Share

Facebook icon Twitter icon Mail icon

Du conflit à la collaboration

Du conflit à la collaboration

Centre d'excellence social

Dans le meilleur des cas, lorsque des entreprises créent de nouvelles entreprises agricoles, forestières ou extractives dans des pays en développement, les populations qui y vivent peuvent constater d’énormes avantages – augmentation des revenus, amélioration des infrastructures locales, accès accru aux services, etc.

Malheureusement, ces opérations entrainent trop souvent de graves conflits avec les communautés locales et les travailleurs, créant ainsi des difficultés considérables pour toutes les personnes concernées. Actuellement, il existe un grave manque de professionnels sociaux formés, provenant des régions où les entreprises exercent leurs activités et capables d’aider les entreprises à intégrer les impacts et les engagements sociaux dans leurs activités.

Le CSE forme des récents diplômés et des professionnels à l’application de bonnes techniques de gestion sociale dans leur travail. Se concentrant sur les zones géographiques mal desservies où le risque de conflit social est le plus élevé, le CSE a pour objectif de développer les compétences en matière de création et d’intégration de programmes de gestion sociale holistiques dans les activités des entreprises, des gouvernements et des ONGs.

Faits

Une étude menée en 2008 par Goldman Sachs auprès de 190 entreprises a révélé que les problèmes politiques liés aux parties prenantes constituaient la première cause de retard dans les projets
Plus de 266 personnes provenant de plus de 11 pays ont été formés aux cycles courts et longs du CSE
Les alumnis du CSE ont un impact sur la gestion d’environ 7 millions d’hectares, comprenant 700 communautés et plus de 200 000 personnes, dont 25% sont des communautés autochtones

Notre solution

La mission du CSE est de créer un environnement propice à l’harmonie sociale et au respect des droits de l’homme en fournissant aux entreprises, à la société civile et aux gouvernants, des praticiens de la société bien formés et issus des régions où ils exercent leurs activités.

Nous mobilisons divers experts sociaux possédant une expérience concrète de la résolution de problèmes sociaux pour concevoir et dispenser des cours aux étudiants qui se trouvent en première ligne des interactions entreprises – communautés.

Formations et ressources de premier plan sur les relations communautaires, la résolution des conflits, le droit des travailleurs, le respect des peuples autochtones et les systèmes de gestion sociale.

Un réseau dynamique d’anciens élèves se soutenant, enseignant et se défiant les uns les autres pour une croissance et un apprentissage continus.

Lorsque les entreprises ont du personnel avec ce type de formation et de soutien, elles peuvent s’engager plus facilement avec les parties prenantes et sont mieux équipées pour éviter les conflits entre la communauté et les travailleurs qui peuvent coûter cher à tout le monde. Les entreprises, les gouvernements et les investisseurs comprennent de plus en plus qu’investir dans ce qu’il faut pour entretenir des relations saines avec les communautés et les travailleurs non seulement réduit les risques mais peut aussi créer de la valeur.

Une gestion sociale constructive peut réduire les coûts opérationnels et les coûts en capital, tout en protégeant la réputation des marques et des secteurs. Les entreprises et les secteurs qui assurent et maintiennent un « permis social d’exploitation » auprès des communautés et d’autres parties prenantes voient leurs activités principales renforcées. Un personnel bien formé est essentiel et les cours du CSE sont conçus pour former le capital humain nécessaire à la concrétisation de cette réalité.

CSE, Jakarta, Indonesia

CSE Indonesia specialises in delivering ‘Short Courses’ lasting 3-10 days that bring together stakeholders from diverse perspectives,…

CSE, São Paulo, Brazil

CSE Brazil is organising best-in-class guidance and training for professionals from multiple sectors on specific methods, including Free…

Yaoundé, Cameroon

CSE Africa was established in 2008 to strategically build local capacity on-the-ground in Central and West Africa .

Actualités et histoires

30 janv. 2019

Bringing companies and communities together in Indonesia

14 nov. 2018

TFT publishes fifth palm oil paper

7 nov. 2017

The Socfin Group becomes an Earthworm Foundation member

Rejoignez la démarche Earthworm

En tant qu'organisation composée de membres, nous savons que la collaboration est la clé du succès et que tout le monde a un rôle à jouer dans la création d'un équilibre entre l'homme et la nature. Nous sommes toujours disposés à écouter de nouveaux membres ou clients potentiels, d’investisseurs ou partenaires intéressés ainsi que de ceux qui souhaitent simplement en savoir plus. N’hésitez pas à nous contacter !

Investissez dans une solution

Pour créer un changement réel et durable, nous sommes conscients du besoin de maximiser l'impact de nos solutions. Si vous souhaitez faire partie de cette initiative, contactez-nous car ensemble, nous pouvons changer les choses.


Partagez une idée
Avez-vous une idée qui pourrait aider à transformer une chaîne d'approvisionnement ou à jouer un rôle dans la lutte contre le changement climatique? Nous sommes convaincus du pouvoir des idées et de la collaboration. Alors s'il vous plaît, contactez-nous et partagez vos pensées.
Posez une question
Vous voulez en savoir plus concernant notre travail sur le terrain? Que vous travailliez dans le développement durable, le journalisme ou que vous soyez simplement curieux de nos engagements, nous serons ravis de répondre à vos questions.

Téléchargements

24 janv. 2019

Beyond Certification

pdf. 892,1 Ko

Learn More

Share

Facebook icon Twitter icon Mail icon

From conflict to collaboration

From conflict to collaboration

Centre of Social Excellence

In the best of circumstances, when companies establish new agriculture, forestry or extractives ventures in developing countries, the people living there can see enormous benefits – increasing incomes, improved local infrastructure, greater access to services, and more.

Unfortunately, all too often, these operations instead lead to serious conflicts with local communities or workers, creating significant hardship for everyone involved. Currently, there is a serious lack of trained social professionals from the regions in which the companies operate to help them integrate social impacts and engagement into their operations.

CSE trains recent graduates and professionals to implement good social management techniques in their work. Focusing on under-served geographies where there is a higher risk of social conflict, CSE’s goal is to cultivate local expertise in building and embedding holistic social management programmes into company, government and NGO operations.

Facts

A 2008 Goldman Sachs study of 190 companies cited political and stakeholder-related issues as the number one cause of project delays.
Over 300 people from more than 11 countries have been trained in CSE short and long courses.
CSE Africa alumni impact the management of approximately 7 million hectares, including 700 communities and over 200,000 people, an estimated 25% of which are indigenous communities.

Our solution

CSE’s mission is to create an enabling environment for social harmony and realised human rights by equipping companies, civil society, and governments with well-trained social practitioners from the regions where they operate.

We mobilise diverse social experts who have real-world experience addressing social issues to design and teach courses to students on the front lines of company-community interactions. CSE offers:

  • Best-in-class trainings and resources on Community Relations, Conflict Resolution, Workers’ Rights, Respect for Indigenous Peoples, and Social Management Systems.
  • A dynamic network of alumni supporting, teaching and challenging one another for continuous growth and learning.

When companies have staff with this kind of training and support, they can more effectively engage with stakeholders, and they are better equipped to avoid community and worker conflicts that can be costly for everyone. Businesses, governments and investors increasingly understand that investing in what it takes to cultivate healthy community and worker relationships not only reduces risk, but it can create value. Constructive social management can lower operational and capital costs, and it can protect the reputations of brands and sectors. Companies and investors that secure and maintain a ‘social license to operate’ from communities and other stakeholders find their core business strengthened. Well-trained staff are key, and CSE’s courses are designed to build the human capital to make this a reality.

Projects

CSE, Yaoundé, Cameroon

CSE Africa was established in 2008 to strategically build local capacity on-the-ground in Central and West Africa. APPLY NOW FOR 2020.

CSE, São Paulo, Brazil

CSE Brazil is organising best-in-class guidance and training for professionals from multiple sectors on specific methods, including Free…

CSE, Jakarta, Indonesia

CSE Indonesia specialises in delivering ‘Short Courses’ lasting 3-10 days that bring together stakeholders from diverse perspectives,…

News & Stories

Nov 8, 2019

CSE Afrique candidatures sont ouvertes. POSTULEZ ICI

Oct 25, 2019

CSE Africa Social Manager Course now open for applications. APPLY NOW.

Jan 30, 2019

Bringing companies and communities together in Indonesia

Join the Earthworm Journey

As a member-based organisation, we know that collaboration is key to success and that everyone has a role to play in creating balance between people and nature. We are always open to hearing from potential new members or clients, interested investors or partners and those who just want to learn more. Please get in touch!

Invest in a solution

To create real, lasting change we know we need to maximise the impact of our solutions. If you want to be a part of this journey, reach out to us and together we can make change happen.

Share an idea
Do you have an idea that could help transform a supply chain or play a part in the fight against climate change? We fully appreciate the power of ideas and collaboration. So, please get in touch and share your thoughts.
Ask a question
Want to know more about our work on the ground? Whether you work in sustainability, journalism or are simply curious about what we do, we’re happy to answer your query.

Downloads

Jan 24, 2019

Beyond Certification

pdf. 892.1 kB

Learn More